sunny rice bento

Hurrah!  I finally managed to make a bento, eat it and blog it all in the same day!  Today was: sausages, greens, carrots, crabstick omelette, brown rice with fresh corn and umeboshi.Image

It was a very simple lunch (except for the omelette, which, if I do say so, was flash!)  Usually after I make a bento I think, hmmm….it could have been more interesting.  But this one did have one of my favourite combos, corn and umeboshi.  I love the sunny bright look of corn, it lifts brown rice for sure, which can look a bit drab at times.  I don’t know what it is about the flavour combination of corn and umeboshi together, I guess it’s the combined intensely salty/sour/sweetness.  I just crave it sometimes.  Here I was thinking of a macrobiotic recipe I used to make, brown rice with umeboshi, onion, corn and cabbage.  So good!  I would have made it today, only I didn’t have cabbage.  

This time I used my magewappa bento box…one of my favourites too.  I love its soft and subtle colour, and the lightweight feel of it.  It seems, I’m not sure how to put it, maybe, “compatible with food”.  Maybe “in harmony” would be better.  But that’s getting way too serious, so for now I’ll say goodbye!  🙂

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to sunny rice bento

  1. babykins says:

    I happened to make corn rice for bento recently, but never thought the combo of corn and umeboshi! Need to try it sometime 🙂

    I’m jealous of the light colored wappa. This bento also looks delicious!

  2. Burinsmith says:

    thank you babykins! I think maybe you will like umeboshi and corn, let me know if you try it :)!

  3. yeeteng78 says:

    Hey, just came across your blog. I love your bentos, they look great yet simple enough that I could probably do! Thinking of making this for my kids lunch at school, can they eat it cold? I will have an ice pack in the insulated lunch bag.

    • Burinsmith says:

      Thanks for dropping by! I’m sure you will find bentos easy to do. Yes, they can eat it cold…at room temperature, or with an ice pack and insulated bag if the climate is very hot where you are.

  4. shirleyhkapa says:

    hmmm the corn rice… hungry!!! want to eat it!

Leave a Reply

