tortilla salad bento

My cooking life is so fun at the moment, my head is bursting with new recipes I want to try, and blog about.  Now I have a Thermomix, it seems to have inspired a burst of creativity.  And my fridge is always full of wonderful flavours to pop into a lunch box.

Last week one of my children had an ice-skating event up in the north of the city, so I took along a tortilla beef salad box.

It was so great to rummage in the fridge and pull out Thermomix goodies like mexi-beef, refried beans, and my homemade taco sauce. In seconds I had a memorable salad, just thinking about it makes me want to make another one right now!  Read on for recipes.  I should mention I’m experimenting with formatting recipes for Thermomix or non-TM.

Mexi-beef
Chop an onion and clove of garlic (few seconds in Thermomix, speed 7) Fry in 20g olive oil (100 deg, speed 1 for 2 minutes).  Add 1 tsp ground coriander, 1 tsp ground cumin, 1 TBSP paprika or 1 tsp cayenne, 1 tsp dried oregano, (cook for one more minute at 100).  Add 500g beef mince, cook until browned (100 deg, 7 minutes, reverse speed one.)

Taco Sauce
I love this sauce, it’s fresh and fragrant, and much nicer than store bought.  It also makes a great base for an Indian curry vegetable dish (like a balti sauce).

Puree 1 kg tomatoes, 40g olive oil, 1/2 onion, 1 clove garlic, one generous handful fresh coriander leaves and stems, one chilli (1 minute, speed 10).  Add salt and pepper to taste.  Cook 30 minutes (varoma temperature, speed soft).  Leave the MC on sideways to stop the occasional splat.  Check sauce after fifteen minutes in case you need to add water, some tomatoes are more watery than others.

Refried Beans (aka Taco Glue)
Chop and saute 1/2 an onion, and garlic, in olive oil as above.  Add one can of kidney or pinto beans, either stir and mash for ages, or in TM just add 1/4 water and give it 1o minutes to cook and stir on reverse speed 1.  Give it a few turbo bursts until the beans are mashed to your liking.  You could add other seasonings to your taste but I didn’t, I like my beans plain.

To make the salad, layer lettuce, shredded carrots, cherry tomato pieces, cucumber, peppers, whatever you like.  place over it a few spoons of soft mexi beans, some beef, and grated cheese.  Top with spring onions and serve with taco sauce and tortillas on the side.  Enjoy!

This entry was posted in Bento and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to tortilla salad bento

  1. Hillary says:

    Yum this sounds great I can’t wait to give it a try 😀

  2. moxiethegal says:

    I seriously want one of those TM’s! Btw, your blog is called Bento Wa, referring to Western Australia, I presume, but do you know “wa” means the subject of a sentence, as in “Bento-wa kirei-na desu!” (saying bento is beautiful, lovely and “tidy”…tidy being synonymous with beautiful in Japan, no doubt). Don’t know if you realized you had done that double-entendre by using the “wa” suffix? Appropriate with bento being the subject of your blog. Very clever! And if not clever, at least synchronistic!

    • Jamjam says:

      Hi Moxie! Yes I did realise that…but great to have it confirmed. I made mention in my “about” page. I love playing with words as well as food. And I think you’d love a TM!

Leave a Reply

