holidays!

What do you do to prepare your home before you go on holidays?  I used to have the simple task of packing a suitcase, clearing out the fridge and finding somewhere for my pup to stay.  These days I have a couple of extra living things to take care of: kefir grains and sourdough starter.

I started making kefir a few weeks ago and I’m now addicted to its probiotic goodness!  A great way to start the day.  My grains multiplied rapidly, so I had enough to share with a friend, to freeze a portion, and to have my active grains to pass to another friend who is looking after puppy-girl Cosette in my absence.  (She is used to her daily hit of kefir in the morning, so it’s great she’ll continue having it!)  All being well in five weeks time I’ll come home and continue my daily regime.  I will write a post about kefir soon, I hope more people will try it and discover how easy (and affordable) it is to make your own daily probiotic!


I also recently started making sourdough again.  Today I made my last loaves, enough bread to see us to our departure.  In order to keep my starter alive while I’m away I converted the remains of my active starter to desem, by simply adding enough rye flour to make a stiff ball of dough.  It should store well in the fridge for weeks.  That’s the theory, anyway!

The rest of my departure preparations have involved getting the house tidy for a pleasant return, and making plans for our travel.  We will be in Dubai during Ramadan, so there was plenty of information to learn about how that will be!  I’m looking forward to trying middle eastern food (after 7 pm!) and visiting the souks to buy strange varieties of dates and hopefully some traditional fabrics.  Then, on to Nova Scotia and Newfoundland, for foodie and other adventures, hopefully fishing for atlantic cod and wild blueberry picking!  I’m looking forward to seeing my family again after many years absence.  So I won’t be posting bentos for a while, but if I have time, I might post about other things.

For those concerned for my friend Jenny, she completed a short course of chemotherapy and her treatment has been virtually without symptoms.  She is showing great improvement.  So I have high hopes for her being with us for a long time yet!

So until we meet again, take care!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to holidays!

  1. Trisha says:

    Now you’ve really piqued my curiosity! I’m off to look up these intriguing – and healthy, it seems! – food.
    Great news about Jenny. And have a wonderful holiday and visit home!
    I’m off to look up kefir grains and sourdough.

    • Burinsmith says:

      Hi Trisha, Thanks for your kind wishes! If you discover you would like some kefir grains I will probably have some extra to share when I get back. Every crone should have a kefir culturing happily on her benchtop! 🙂

      • Trisha says:

        When do you get back? Might take you up on that offer. I’ve roamed around some web sites. Will ask my other crone friends. Travel well.

    • Burinsmith says:

      I’m back in about five weeks. See you then!

  2. A Table in the Sun says:

    I started making kefir about 3 weeks ago too. Those little buggers grow fast! At first, I found major benefits in my sleep. Now….I’m not sure. I really don’t tolerate much dairy, so I’m still trying to decide if kefir agrees with me. I won’t dare dream of sourdough since gluten is my worst enemy.

    • Burinsmith says:

      I don’t tolerate dairy well either, but this seems to be fine with me. My sleep has improved too. At first my stomach was a bit iffy, but now it’s better than before. As to sourdough, the guru I did my course with does gluten free sourdough too… her book is Sourdough: From Pastries to Gluten-free Wholegrain Breads, by Yoke Mardewi, in case you’re interested!

  3. Carolyn says:

    I hope you have a wonderful trip, and enjoy your time with your family 🙂

Leave a Reply

