simply better muffins

Do you like blueberry muffins?  I do, but my ten-year old doesn’t.  He has a thing about “foods mixed together”.  He’s a fruit bat who hates fruit combined with other things!  This means when I want to make a batch of fruity muffins I have a small problem.  Besides this, I have another small problem with blueberry muffins…I hate that weird bluish-green colour muffins get!  Do you get that as well?  It’s much worse with frozen blueberries, which are all I have access to here in Perth.  But not to worry, happily I found a simple little solution that fixes my two small problems!

I mix a plain batter, then spoon a little into the muffin cups.  Sprinkle on my choice of flavouring (here, bittersweet chocolate chunks on one half and blueberries on the other.)  Blob on more batter, then more flavours.  Easy right?  I think I’ll also try a tray of multiple flavours sometime, just for fun!

Was this too simple to make a blog post about?  I don’t know.  But it works!

See, no horrible bluish-green swirls!

Muffin Recipe
2 cups self-raising flour (I used organic white spelt)
1/2 cup raw sugar (or other natural sweetener)
pinch of salt
1 cup of milk
1 egg
1/2 cup of melted butter (or oil)
1 cup flavourings (fruit, nuts, chocolate chips or chunks, etc.)

Mix the dry ingredients.  In a separate bowl beat the egg and add the other ingredients.  Gently stir into the flour until just incorporated…don’t worry about a few specks of flour here and there!  Then go ahead and spoon into muffin cups, as above.  Bake at 200 degrees for about fifteen minutes until puffed and golden.

This entry was posted in Bento and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to simply better muffins

  1. Carolyn says:

    These look delicious, I love blueberries! Did you know you can get fresh blueberries here in Perth, at Scuttis?

Leave a Reply

