peruvian chicken soup bento

Happy Mother’s Day to all Mothers/Grandmothers/honourary mothers!  I’m relaxing at home and enjoying a day of not cooking AT ALL.  But thought I’d take the opportunity to post about “one I made earlier.”
These are rye and seed rolls, they are nice and flat and square, perfect for a small bento meal.  I like sandwiches plain, eg. just cheese, or just salami.  Here in Australia most people put everything but the kitchen sink on.  I was shocked when I first ordered a sandwich in a milk bar (= convenience store with a lunch counter) and saw that sliced pickled beets were on the menu.  Call me boring, but when it comes to sandwiches for me, less is certainly more.

The soup is one of my favourites at this time of year, Peruvian chicken soup.  I don’t know whether it’s authentic or not, it’s a simple recipe I was taught by my mother-in-law, who got it from my sister-in-law, who got it from ??  Here is another bento featuring this soup (and the soup looked a lot nicer!) I made it last year but didn’t get around to posting.
The bread roll in this bento was homemade…I love homemade bread.  In fact, I just started making sourdough bread, and I’d like to post about that soon!  If you’d like the recipe for the Peruvian Chicken Soup (it’s really a two course meal in one) here it is:

Peruvian Chicken Soup
One large chicken
A large onion
several cloves of garlic
heaped tablespoon paprika (can be part hot paprika, if you like it)
teaspoon or two of cumin (I go with two!)
A large sweet potato
3 or 4 large potatoes
fresh or frozen corn cobettes (one per person) or corn kernels,
french/green beans ( couple of handsful)

Slice and saute the onions and garlic in olive oil in a large pot until they soften, then add the chicken.  It can be whole or cut up, your choice.  Turn the chicken in the oil now and then so it colours all over.  Sprinkle with the paprika and cumin, salt and pepper and turn until it’s touched by goldenness.

Add plenty of water so the chicken is immersed and simmer for an hour or so until the chicken is about tender.  Add chunks of cut up potato and sweet potato, the green beans, and half a cup of rice.  Simmer until the rice and vegetables are nearly cooked, then add the corn and cook through.

We usually serve a bowl of the broth followed by chicken and vegetables.  The next day I take the remaining chicken off the bones, break up the vegetables and reheat to serve it as a hearty soup.  The perfect winter meal!

This entry was posted in Bento and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to peruvian chicken soup bento

  1. moxiethegal says:

    Sounds delicious. I think I’ll be making that soup tomorrow…the weather is very cool right now, and I have a chicken in the fridge. Paprika… foreshadowing your trip to Spain… A spice I love and was wanting to grow the peppers this season, but could not find the right seeds in time to start them early.

    • Burinsmith says:

      Too right…I will have to make this soup again and add some of my treasured pimentón de Murcia, and perhaps a little pimentón picante! The soup is even better the days after.

Leave a Reply

