beef rice bento and a birkenstock bag

Here is another bento I did a while ago and didn’t get a chance to post.  Leftover ginger-beef rice with spring onions, “teriyaki” tofu, flat beans, pepper, cucumber and mini tomatoes.  I think this unbleached cotton bag suits my glass lunch box aesthetic, don’t you?  🙂  Recently I bought a new pair of birkenstocks, my old sandals are nearly worn out.  So now I have a new pair of mary jane style black “slides,” or are they clogs?  Not sure!  Anyway, they’re very comfy!

For the ginger beef rice, here is an adapted method from an old favourite cookbook, The Taste of China, by Ken Hom.  For 250 g of finely diced beef, or chicken thigh, add 1.5 Tbsp of light soy sauce, 1 Tbsp of dark soy sauce, 1 Tbsp of sesame oil, 1.5 Tbsp of chinese rice wine or sake and a teaspoon of cornstarch.  Leave it to marinate while you put your rice on to cook the way you usually do, about two cups of dry rice is enough for this much beef.  (I use a double recipe to feed my hungry mob).  When the rice is half cooked briefly saute a small knob of grated ginger in a little oil, and add the marinated meat.  Let it caramelise briefly then flip and stir, frying for a few minutes until it’s coloured all over.  Then tip it on top of the rice, and cover again immediately to finish cooking.  I use my rice cooker, and add the meat when there is at least 10 minutes left of cooking time.  When the rice is cooked, give it a good fluff to mix the meat in.  For each serving it’s nice to top with a sprinkle of soy sauce and some coriander, spring onion, chilli, or a combination.  Sometimes I have leftovers for breakfast, with chilli, coriander, vinegar and fish sauce, it reminds me of breakfasts in Thailand!  Ah such happy culinary memories! 🙂  This is one of my favourite family meals to cook, every likes it, it’s quick and easy, and makes great leftovers, and freezes well in small quantities.  After adding the meat to the rice I quickly clean out the hot wok and stir fry some vegetables.  So at the end I only have two dirty pots to clean!  And that, for me, is a major win.

This entry was posted in Bento and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

