scones, and spring-cleaning saturday bento

After last week’s hospital drama I had a sudden urge to do a domestic.  And what a perfect day for it; Saturday turned out golden and springly!  Straight after the morning walk I felt like baking so knocked out a batch of crusty scones for breakfast.  I recently bought a 5 kilo bag of wholegrain spelt flour, so went hippie and made my usual scone recipe %100 wholemeal.  I made a few scones with pumpkin seeds on top for myself.  I love the crusty “mountaintops” of these scones…this recipe is the hovis scone one from the Country Women’s Association Cookbook.  I’ll put the recipe at the end of the post.

After the weekly trip to the market we got out in the garden for a big spring clean up.  I pruned and tidied up the bamboo, hoping for some fresh green leaves to use as baran soon!  We saved all the bamboo poles for garden stakes…and some small ones to use in the kitchen.  When we get our barbecue going again I’d like to use some of them as chicken skewers.  It felt good to think of other uses for what have otherwise gone into landfill.

For lunch I made myself  a swiss cheese roll on spelt bread from the market.  I love these new lunchboxes, they’re so versatile!  And I used a bamboo twig as a food pick for fun :).

I was so happy to finally get some work done in the garden.  The weather has become warm, it was in the 20’s C all weekend.  Now I’m thinking ahead to what seeds and trees we will be planting soon.
Oh, I nearly forgot the scone recipe!  Here it is…

CWA Cookery Book Hovis Scones
2 cups self-raising flour (or plain flour with 4 tsps baking powder)
1 Tbsp butter (1 ounce)
good pinch salt
one egg
enough milk to make a soft dough
plain flour on a plate for dusting

I doubled this recipe for the size of batch you see in the photo.  Rub the butter into the dry ingredients, or pulse in a food processor.  Beat the egg, add milk (for a total of about 1 cup of liquid).  Stir into the flour, just enough to mix it through.  Put some plain flour on a plate and drop big spoonsful of dough onto it, a few at a time.  Gently toss the blobs of dough back and forth in your hands to make rounded scone shapes, and drop them on a baking sheet (no need to grease it, the scones should be nice and dusty.)  If you want to stick nuts or seeds on top, dip the tops in a little milk and egg mixture first.  Arrange the scones so they are barely touching each other and bake in a very hot oven (220C or 400ish F).  Watch them, at these temps a few minutes makes a big difference.  They should be done in about 20 minutes, but tease a couple apart to see if they are cooked to make sure.  Serve with jam and cream if you want!  And feel free to use different additions…crust the top with different seeds, nuts, or combinations, or try some demerara sugar.  Soak some raisins or dates and add them to the dough.  Enjoy!

This entry was posted in Bento and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to scones, and spring-cleaning saturday bento

  1. Pingback: summer memories… | bento wa

Leave a Reply

