‘simply onigiri’ book review

On my recent trip I visited Kinokuniya, a bookstore that put stars in my eyes.  I don’t know about your town, but in my town bookstores have been disappearing, and the ones that are still surviving are small and poorly stocked.  Imagine my enthusiasm as I took in this massive store, big enough to get lost in (and yes, I did…!)  The food and drink section alone dwarfed my local bookstore.  While wandering around, lost and hungry, I found a wonderful little book, ‘Simply Onigiri’ by Sanae Inada.  A cookbook just about onigiri, the adorable and ubiquitous Japanese comfort food….?  Believe me, it is as wonderful as it sounds!

IMGP7392After a brief introduction about onigiri, Inada gives clear and detailed instructions on how to prepare and cook rice, and how to make a basic rice ball.   Subsequent sections are for plain, mixed rice, filled and grilled onigiri, and even for different types of rice (eg brown).  Most recipes feature a different shape or method for the onigiri.  Nearly all recipes contained ingredients that I would be able to find in my town (even though Perth is not well-supplied with Japanese ingredients.)  The few exotic exceptions were so appealing, for example, myoga (ginger bud) and cucumber mixed onigiri – which I would love to try some day, if only I could get my hands on some myoga!

The section on how to decorate onigiri has some fun ideas, though there are only a few examples of “cute” onigiri, (ie, looking like animals, etc).  But of course that subject is covered widely elsewhere.  The book has a pleasant minimalist look and easy on the eyes soft focus photographs.  The methods are explained simply, and well-illustrated.  There are a lot of tips included with the recipes to make bundling up a batch of onigiri easier.

What I liked most about the book is that it opened my mind to different ways I could make onigiri with ingredients I’m already using.  The rice balls in the bento above are mixed rice bibimbap onigiri, made with finely shredded leftover bulgogi beef, spinach namul, and corn.   It’s an inspiration to see page after page of variety, and has made me even more enthused to include onigiri in bentos.

For some more examples of other onigiri shapes and flavours, here are a few I featured in other posts:

edamame onigiri and furikake onigiri
toasted onigiri
chicken and black mushroom onigiri

Besides the bibimbap onigiri the bento above contains kimchi, asparagus, and sweet soy and black sesame chicken.  The chicken recipe is just a simple one inspired by some rice crackers I had years ago, wish I could still find them!

Sweet Soy and Black Sesame Chicken
300g chicken thighs, cut into bite sized pieces
sweet soy sauce
mirin
black sesame seeds

Saute the chicken on medium low heat  until cooked through.  Drizzle on sweet dark soy sauce (I use a sticky Indonesian one) and a good splash of mirin.  Toss and turn the chicken, boiling down the liquid until it’s syrupy.  Be careful not to burn it!  Taste for seasoning, you may need to add salt if your soy sauce is not very salty.  When the liquid is nearly all gone and the chicken is shiny and coated, sprinkle on black sesame seeds and stir them through.  This recipe makes enough for several bentos, or a meal for two or three.

This entry was posted in Bento and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to ‘simply onigiri’ book review

  1. Hello! This is Sanae from Simply Onigiri. Thank you so much for your review about my book! It’s was so nice to hear that you enjoyed it and also making onigiri as we’ll! Your bento box pic looks Soooo delicious and makes me feel like making it for tmrw’s lunch. :) I suppose to write more recipes and ideas in my blog but I have been really busy since I started working as a pastry chef in artisan bourangerie. But I would love to continue writing more easy but yummy recipes especially for someone who is enjoying my book.
    Thank you very much again and I hope you keep making bento boxes and being an ambassador of onigiri!

    Best,
    Sanae

    • Burinsmith says:

      Sanae, I’m thrilled you stopped by and commented, thank you for that! And also for your lovely compliment on my bento…! :) I hope you will write more on the subject of onigiri, and japanese food. I love your recipes, and photography is amazing too. So you also do boulangerie and artisan bread? I enjoy that too, especially sourdough bread, which I make a lot. I hope you will do some blogging on your bread knowledge as well!

      I was in Singapore recently, and visited a boulangerie or two, maybe I saw you there?? :)

      I also followed your facebook page and your blog, for anyone else who is interested I will mention it here: itadakimasublog.com

      best wishes Sanae!

Leave a Reply

